Art Post – Happy Halloween

Not caught up on the comic yet? You can go visit the comic’s archive through this link here.

happy-halloween

Here’s the quote on quote Halloween picture I said I was going to do… I realized as I was doing this, that if you have a bunch of characters who are members of the undead who make up your web comic’s cast… You don’t really have to try too hard to stick them into a Halloween themed drawing. Sure, I could’ve made it a little more on point by adding a jack-o-lantern to the background or something… But I’m lazy with backgrounds and kinda of hate doing them, so I used something I got off of Google as a basis and modified it to better match the picture. Still, even though I edited the background to make it a whole heck of a lot less detailed and fairly hard to recognize in comparison to the original picture, credit where credit is due. (They’re a heck of a lot more talented than me, that’s for sure, so they deserve the recognition)

Anyways, I chose to not use and Alex and Kitsiyuna for this one and decided I should let my antagonist get a chance to be shown off for once. I figured that a witch/necromancer and her skeletal minion would be appropriate enough for the holiday, so I went and drew Shira with a witch’s hat and Styx without his face being covered up for the picture.

And yes, in case you couldn’t tell from the comics, Styx is supposed to be a skeleton. I was going to show that off at the end of Comic 67, but I sort of rewrote how the aftermath of that fight went down so I didn’t really have a chance to show that off. Styx was originally going to actually reveal himself to everyone as the guy responsible for creating the Poltergeist and tell Alex that his boss was interested in recruiting him, but I padded the ending to the fight up to that point so that it would end after I did exactly 100 pages. So, in order to move the story along, I just decided to cut that bit and save the reveal of his face for another time… which I suppose is right now… Anyways, that change to the story has made me decide to change how Shira is going to approach attempting to recruit Alex. She’s going to be sly and cunning about it instead of using a more direct approach I was originally going to have her use. Because of this change, her actions are going to be more subtle in how they affect Alex and Kitsiyuna. Which in turn, I feel is going to allow me to have her show up a bit more frequently in the comic with her scheming than I originally was planning. I actually wrote her into the next story arc because of that. So there you have it: Some useless trivia that none of you guys probably cared to know!

At any rate, I hope you guys enjoy the drawing and enjoy the holiday. (Though, I’m sure most of the people who would be reading the comic would be just a little bit past the age where it’s okay for them to be trick-or-treating, so not as much to enjoy at that point…) With all of that, I’ll see you next comic.

Leave a Reply

