Night Fox – Comic Post #077: Behavioral Observation

Not caught up on the comic yet? You can go visit the comic’s archive through this link here.

comic-077a

OH MY, HOW FOREBODING…! WHAT’S GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT I WONDER…? TUNE IN NEXT WEEK TO FIND OUT…!

News wise, the only thing I have to talk about really is the new Pokemon games… So I guess I’ll ramble on about that for a little bit…

I was playing Moon, and managed to beat it in about 4 days of playing it (I more or less cleared an island per day), which isn’t too surprising I guess as it was pretty much the only thing I was doing over the weekend. I have to say, while I do like a lot of things they did with the game, like a lot of the quality of life changes they did to stuff like HMs and memorizing the type chart, and especially what they ended up doing story wise, the general approach that GameFreak has been taking with the franchise with this game (and to the same extent, what they did with X and Y) by laser focusing on the nostalgia factor of Gen I might ultimately make me just give up on the series if the next generation isn’t capable of standing on its own (like how Gen V and III did things), or at the very least, adds a bunch of ACTUAL evolutions (none of this Mega Evolution, Z-Move, or Alolan Form stuff that are all kind of under developed) for older Pokemon that really need them (like what they did in Gen IV). Also, the SOS Battle mechanic is a fat load of BS. It’s completely random, makes it a pain to capture wild Pokemon, and made random encounters take way longer than they needed to a lot of the time. Why they couldn’t have stuck with something like the DexNav from ORAS to find Pokemon with hidden abilities is beyond me.What’s more, they’re a terrible replacement for Hoard Battles in regards to EV training Pokemon quickly. Still, credit where credit is due, they did at least make breeding much easier to do by making it easier to bulk hatch eggs… Two steps forward, and one step back I guess…

Of course, one final little grievance I have: WHY THE F**K GAMEFREAK, DID YOU HAVE TO MAKE NINETALES, ONE OF MY FAVORITE POKEMON, EXCLUSIVE TO SUN!?

But yeah… I still think the game is worth playing, and if you’re not a long time player like I am, it will probably be that much better game to you. Might not be the best game to start with though if you’re new to the franchise, as it is definitely the hardest game in the series that I’ve played recently (Trainers use actual strategies and aren’t completely braindead! Who knew?). X and Y, or ORAS I would say are better places to start if you’ve never played a Pokemon game before.

Anyways, the post game for Moon might still end up occupying my time for the foreseeable future, so if the updates slow down, you’ll understand why: POOR TIME MANAGEMENT. At any rate, that’s pretty much all I wanted to talk about right now for the time being (I didn’t actually have to go in for jury duty, so I have nothing to really talk about there). So until then, I’ll see you next comic.

 

Leave a Reply

