Night Fox – Comic Post #078: Introduction To Spirit Horticulture

Not caught up on the comic yet? You can go visit the comic’s archive through this link here.

comic-078a

I’m sure not many of you were aware of the fact, that when I was first starting Night Fox as a web comic, I was on the third version of my script for it. The first version I had around 60 some odd pages of comic written before I had even started drawing anything for it. Unfortunately, due to a couple of stupid writing decisions I had made, (most notably, I felt it was a good idea to keep it a secret that Kitsiyuna was supposed to be a Spirit for the entirety of those 60 pages, so writing stuff for her was kind of EXTREMELY awkward) I decided to scrap the first draft. The second draft tried to cram too many of the plot points I had planned from the first draft in a much smaller span of time, so I gutted that attempt as well. It wasn’t until I decided to just wing what I was doing did I finally get something I was happy with. Of course, another problem those first two drafts had was how much I was front loading exposition and world building into the story, instead of spreading it out slowly and in more “natural-ish” manner. Of course, I’ve been planning this world since I was in 10th grade, so I didn’t want to give that stuff up completely. Because I’ve been doing the comic for a while now, I’ve been feeling more comfortable adding those little world building expositional moments back in to the story, particularly for this story arc. So, in case one of the characters goes into an expositional rant about how something works in the world of Night Fox, now you know why. AND KNOWING IS HALF THE BATTLE!

*Cough cough*

Anyways, I hope all of you guys enjoyed your Thanksgivings last week more than I did. While I was never really THAT big of a fan of it in the first place (the food that for some reason we all decided is mandatory to eat on the holiday is just THE WORST. Can’t stand turkey at all…), this year in particular was just… Not that good… Barely spent time with anyone in my family that I don’t already see on a regular basis, so the whole thing was just like any other family dinner… but with food that I cannot stand and a butt load more dishes to clean up afterwards. It felt like we all were just phoning it in this year. I mean, I know for a fact I was, because phoning it in is pretty much all I do in my life now… I mean, I was phoning it in so hard actually, I had forgot it was going to be Thanksgiving until like, the day before.  And then next month, we get to do it ALL OVER AGAIN for Christmas… I swear, once you get past a certain age, the end of the year holidays REALLY suck.

All of my cynicism aside, I’m still haven’t dropped the ball on these updates… Yet, anyways. Part of that is thanks to the fact that I didn’t realize how quickly I was going to be able to get around to doing post game training in Pokemon Moon. I heard so many people complaining about how bullshit the Battle Tree and Battle Royal could be (which, to be fair, they very much are), so I figured it would take a bit of grinding to get enough BP for a full set of Power items. Turns out that I ended up getting pretty lucky and I got that done a lot faster than I expected. And when I got that done, I quickly realized: a lot of the Pokemon teams I want to train wouldn’t be possible to set up until the Pokemon Bank launches next year. So I decided to slow down on the game until then.

That all being said, I still need to kill my bad habit of procrastinating writing the comic’s scripts. Like REEEEEEEEEEALLY badly… Like I need to straight up murder that bad habit because I still don’t have the ending to this segment of story written on paper yet. Well, typed up on Word, but you get the difference… At any rate, I’ve rambled long enough, so until then, I’ll see you next comic.

Leave a Reply

