The FINAL Art Post – Comic Short: Night Fox Comic #001 Redone

While you’re here, why not check out one of these links?

My DeviantArtComic Archive | Character List | Novel Chapters

So here’s the final thing I was planning on posting to the blog for the foreseeable future: a complete redo of the very first comic for Night Fox. This was a kind of one-off proof of concept thing I decided to do in order to figure out how easy it would be to start doing the comic all digitally, because if you didn’t notice, this was done entirely using the tablet. Give or take me finding out a method that looks just as good without taking any extra time to accomplish, this is probably how the restart will look, at least towards the beginning of me actually working on it.

I’m not gonna lie, I was a little bit concerned the whole idea of doing the comic all digitally was going to turn out to be a complete disaster, as when I started working on this, the first panel took me like 3 hours to do. which is far longer than I ever want to be working on an individual panel for. But that was because I was working in the wrong kind of mindset for the comic by treating it like a Photoshop document and juggling my focus around a bunch of different layers for each background element. I realized I didn’t have to actually treat it like the Photoshop document it actually was, and to just treat it like a regular drawing, only I had access to a much effective “pencil” and “eraser” (and only using different layers when it would make drawing overlapping stuff easier). Once I did that, my work on this sped up considerably and it took about as long as a standard comic, which I take as a good sign for me being able to work on future comics at an okay pace.

But with that, that’s going to be everything from me this post… and well everything from this blog as well. I already said pretty much everything I wanted to last post, so I won’t belabor the “finality” here. Just remember to follow me on my DeviantArt if you ever want to see what I’m doing from this point forward. It’s certainly been quite the adventure I will say, but it’s finally time for me to move on. With that said, I’ll just see you all… when I see you all again. Goodbye everyone.

Leave a comment