Art Post – Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop… something…

While you’re here, why not check out one of these links?

Comic Archive | Character List | Novel Chapters

Doc June 2019

Here’s one of those Meldworld pictures I talked about earlier this week, this one being of Dr. Strangelove. Funny thing about me giving her that name: I never actually watched the movie itself. One of the only reasons I even know about it was because I had to do a quick presentation about its opening credits for a film editing class in community college. Not that any of that is relevant to this picture, but it’s just a fun little fact that I wanted to put out there.

Anyways, on to the actual picture itself. No real reason as to why I drew her again. Mostly just felt like it I guess. Anyways, for this picture, I tried doing some more simplistic shading again because I figured it worked out okay last time, why not do it again? I feel pretty good with how she turned out. I also finally realized I can apply very slight color gradients to the picture after it’s done to make the whole thing not look nearly as flat, and I think it really helped make Doc here look so much more vibrant in this picture than Alex and Kitsiyuna did in that drawing from back at the end of April. Also, not having a background that is all one solid color helps too. The other Meldworld drawing that I’ve got, I approached from a similar manner, so it’s gonna feel somewhat similar to this one. And if you’re upset by that sudden desire for consistency on my part… Sorry in advance I guess?

Now that I have talking about the drawing out of the way, I want to talk some more about E3. Not too much, but there is one thing that I just wanted to bring up with this post… it’s Tifa’s design for the Final Fantasy 7 Remake. I don’t like it. Her face, looks good. Pretty much perfect. Her boobs, just a little bit smaller than I wanted, but you know what, I can deal with that. My main problem though, is her fucking legs. They made them too skinny and gave her stupid black thigh high stockings that completely throw off the color balance of her entire outfit. She’s wearing too much black now, and I hate it. Also, what do people have against bare legs all of a sudden!? They did this shit with Mythra’s Spirit in Smash Bros by Photoshopping some pantyhose onto her official artwork, and now they’re doing it to Tifa! As someone who can appreciate a nice pair of legs, can we stop with this lie that adding stockings to a design that didn’t have them in the first place somehow “improves them”? Because it doesn’t. It makes them look off. “Oh, but I like the thigh highs, they just make her look sexier!” Shut up. No they don’t. You’re lying to yourself and everyone else. Just admit the fact that you’re more attracted to the socks than the girls themselves, you damn Sockfags.

(If it sounds like I’m being overly judgmental here, I’m not. This isn’t supposed to be an actual serious rant. I’m just doing it for the LOLz. Also, I want credit for coining the term Sockfag here…)

I think my biggest problem with the stockings on Tifa can be better illustrated by comparing her redesign to a recreation of her old design in the remake. They honestly make Tifa look like some kind of high schooler who shops out of Hot Topic (the fact that she apparently also has little skulls on her new pleated skirt reinforces this further to me). They basically made her look a lot younger and more immature, when I felt her character was never supposed to be like that. Also, not having the big red gloves I feel was a mistake as well, though I guess you could just chalk that up to the fact that her original gloves might still exist simply as a different weapon for her.

Basically, what I want to know is why they even had to change her design this much in the first place in comparison to the other characters. Even if it’s only by a tiny fraction, her old design was definitely better! There better be DLC for it Sqenix! Because if there isn’t… I’ll probably just complain a little bit more to myself and still play the game when it comes out regardless. Because here’s another fun fact for you guys: I never got past the 1st Disc on FF7! I didn’t even get around to playing 7 until like 2013. Just further proof that you guys probably shouldn’t be taking me too seriously…

But if FF8 ever got a remake like this, and they try to pull a similar kind of redesign… Ooooooh so help me… They’ll be even more impotent rage coming from me, you can bet your butts on that! (Final Fantasy 8 was actually my first Final Fantasy and because NOSTALGIA, it’s also my favorite. And yes, I did actually cheer when I saw it was finally getting a remaster like the other PS1 Final Fantasies did.) Anyways, that’s enough pointlessly ranting about slight tweaks to character designs. Next art post is going up on Monday, so until then, I’ll see you next post.

Leave a comment